directions      elements


In the Native American tradition of the medicine wheel, the Sacred Directions of East, South, West and North are recognized. Each direction is connected with the Sacred Elements of Air, Fire, Water, and Earth. The sacred directions and elements also provide powers and lessons for the path attributes they are associated with.




Element: Air
Represents: Air Elements, Vibrations, Scents, Wind, Sky, Clouds
Season: Spring
Time: Dawn
Color: Yellow
Angel: Raphael
Totems: Wolf, Hawk, Eagle, Deer, Racoon, Cardinals
Power: Mind, Intellect, Breath, Music
Lessons: Rebirth, Renewal, Clarity, Transition, Movement, Expansion
Thought: "The mind is awareness, perception, focus and illumination"


Element: Fire
Represents: Fire Elements, Sun, Transmutation, Passion, Relation
Season: Summer
Time: Noon
Color: Red
Angel: Michael
Totems: Hawk, Badger, Coyote, Fox
Lessons: Purification, Healing, Abundance, Protection, Change
Thought: "In innocence, faith, strength and protection I am"


Element: Water
Represents: Water Elements, Moon, Feelings, Emotions
Season: Fall
Time: Dusk
Color: Blue
Angel: Gabriel
Totems: Bear, Raven, Elk, Jaguar, Heron
Lessons: Cleansing, Letting Go, Purification, Reflection, Balance
Thought: "Inner knowing, feelings, healing and light are all part of me"


Element: Earth
Represents: Earth Elements, Foundations, Grounding
Season: Winter
Time: Midnight
Color: White
Angel: Ariel
Totems: Buffalo, Wolf, Owl, Heron, Dragon and Mythical Beasts
Lessons: Wisdom, Knowledge, Understanding, Completion of cycles
Thought: "Through patience & ceremony I seek knowledge & wisdom"



The Four Directions of the Universal Circle in Cherokee Tradition

Four Sacred Directions in the Universal Circle of Life observed in the Cherokee Tradition are where each represents a specific color, direction, attribute of learning focus, and path to follow.

This clockwise circle represents the spiral of life, with the directional energy that influences it. The Center is for the Creator, and the Four Directions of the Universal Circle.

The Four Directions provide guidance in understanding our behaviors and directions. The Directions provide us balance and we must find the harmony in relationship to all that exists in our environment.

The Four Directions also connect us with the spirit of the animals and birds as our brothers and sisters in the Universal Circle. In traditional teachings, the circle represents an omni-present energy that exists in the universe, which is the never-ending Circle of Life.


Color - Red
Direction - Spiritual
Path of Sun
Color - White
Direction - Natural
Path of Peace
Color - Black
Direction - Physical
Path of Introspect
Color - Blue
Direction - Mental
Path of Quiet




Website © 2016 Pamela Nine and Nine Wellness. All Rights Reserved.